About

Who are we?

We are a group of trans, inter and non-binary people as well as friends and supporters, wo are studying and working in and around universities all over Austria. Together we have formed the project group NaGeH.
Our work was made possible by the efforts of the preceding initative “smash the gender binary” that was initiated by students of the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna in autumn 2015.

What is NaGeH, and what are your aims as a group?

Our main focus as a group is to address discrimination against non-binary trans and inter persons at universities, and bring to their attention that a change in their policies is needed in order to make studying possible and accessible for non-binary trans and inter people. NaGeH as an acronym stands for “mein Name, mein Geschlecht, meine Hochschule”, which translates to “My name, my gender, my higher education”.
As the term suggests, our goal is to deconstruct structural violence in universities, render visible the struggles of non-binary trans and inter people’s issues at their respective working place or the place they are studying at and suggest future models of operating that acknowledge and respect non-binary and binary trans and inter persons’ autonomy and right to self-determination.

Who is affected by this?

All non-binary (and even binary) trans and inter persons at Austrian universities are affected by gender based discrimination.
It is especially the students and people working at universities, in whose cases Austrian law and regulations are not applicable (because they do not hold an Austrian citizenship or an acknowledged status as refugees), who are notably disadvantaged and affected as they are still prohibited from legally changing their name and gender marker.
Furthermore, those who cannot afford to make these legal changes and/or do not wish to be legally acknowledged as one of two binary genders, as they may not consider themselves represented by and do not identify with either of the available two options, are concerned.

Why is it necessary that these steps are taken now?

An increasing number of trans, inter and non-binary students and university personnel is choosing to speak up about the disrespectful ways their concerns have been dealt with. The binary model of categorizations universities are still attempting to apply does not correspond with a large number of people’s sense of situating themselves in the world, their lived reality or even their everyday experiences.

What is the gender binary?

A coercive categorization according to such a model violently erases the diversity of people’s lived experiences and ways of expressing and perceiving their gender. It is an expression of fundamental respect and appreciation to accept and affirm another person’s identity.

What is non-binary?

Non-binary identities are identities that exist outside of the gender binary.

Über uns

Wer wir sind

Wir sind eine Gruppe von trans, inter und nicht-binären Menschen sowie Freund_innen und Untersützer_innen, die an unterschiedlichen Hochschulen in Österreich studieren oder arbeiten. Gemeinsam bilden wir die Initiative NaGeH.

Unsere Arbeit hat begonnen mit der Initiative “smash the gender binary”, die von Studierenden der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien im Herbst 2015 initiiert worden war.

Was ist NaGeH und welche Ziele haben wir

Unser Hauptfokus liegt darauf, Diskriminierung von nicht-binären, trans- und inter*geschlechtlichen Personen an Hochschulen aufzuzeigen. So wollen wir einerseits ermöglichen an notwendigen strukturellen Verbesserungen arbeiten zu können und andererseits auch Ansätze und Strategien für einen besseren Umgang miteinander zu etablieren um ein Studieren und Arbeiten im Hochschulraum für Betroffene zu erleichtern und zu verbessern.

NaGeH steht als Abkürzung für „mein Name, mein Geschlecht, meine Hochschule“. Wie unser Name andeutet, ist es unser Ziel, strukturelle Gewalt an Hochschulen zu dekonstruieren und die alltäglichen Kämpfe von trans, inter und nicht-binären Personen sichtbar zu machen. Selbstbestimmung und Autonomie von Menschen mit trans, inter und nicht-binären Lebensrealitäten müssen respektiert werden und strukturell verankerte Anerkennung erfahren.

Warum ist es notwendig diese Schritte jetzt zu gehen?

Immer mehr trans, inter und nicht-binäre Studierende und an Hochschulen Mitarbeitende entscheiden sich dazu, ihre Stimme zu erheben um auf ihnen widerfahrenes geringschätzendes Verhalten aufmerksam zu machen und um die ihnen zustehenden Rechte einzufordern. Das binäre Geschlechtsmodell, welches Hochschulen noch immer versuchen, geltend zu machen, entspricht vielen Alltagsrealitäten nicht und muss deswegen hinterfragt und abgeändert werden.

Wen betrifft das?

Alle nicht-binären und binären trans sowie inter Personen an österreichischen Hochschulen sind von Diskriminierung auf Grund von Geschlecht betroffen.
Vor allem leiden Studierende und an Hochschulen Arbeitende, auf die österreichisches Recht nicht anwendbar ist – da sie nicht über eine österreichische Staatsbürger_innenschaft oder einen anerkannten Status als Geflüchtete verfügen – darunter, dass ihnen die behördliche Beantragung von Namens- und Personenstandsänderung nach wie vor gesetzlich verwehrt ist.
Darüber hinaus trifft es jene, die nicht über die finanziellen Mittel verfügen, eine solche Änderung vornehmen zu können, oder nicht anstreben, in einem binären Geschlecht rechtlich anerkannt zu werden, da sie sich keinem der beiden solchen zugehörig fühlen.

Was ist Geschlechtsbinarität?

Geschlechtsbinarität meint eine Einteilung von allen Personen in zwei binäre Kategorien. Eine solche Praktik ignoriert die gelebte Diversität von vielen Menschen und macht die unterschiedlichen Weisen, Geschlecht auszudrücken, unsichtbar. Es ist ein Ausdruck grundlegenden Respekts und Wertschätzung, die Geschlechtsidentität einer jeden Person zu akzeptieren und mit ihr bestätigend umzugehen.

The gender binary is a model of gender that classifies all people into one of two genders. Under the binary model, gender is seen as a rigid binary option, like one or zero.

Was ist „nicht-binär“?

Eine nicht-binäre Geschlechtsidentität meint alle Geschlechter, die nicht (komplett) männlich oder weiblich sind. Also: etwas anderes, gar keines, mehrere oder nicht immer das selbe.
http://de.nichtbinaer.wikia.com/wiki/Nichtbin%C3%A4r_Wikia
http://nonbinary.org/wiki/Main_Page
https://meinnamemeinpronomen.wordpress.com/